English language levels (CEFR)

Tracktest English Test uses the popular CEFR standard (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages) for evaluation. The six reference English levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2) are widely accepted as the global standard for grading an individual’s language proficiency.
CEFR English levels are used by all modern English language books and English language schools. It is recommended to use CEFR levels in job resumes (curriculum vitae, CV, Europass CV) and other English level references. We list here the CEFR descriptors for language proficiency level, their meaning, and approximate equivalent to other global English evaluation schemes- Cambridge ESOL, Canadian Language Benchmarks / Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program (CLB/CELPIP), Canadian Academic English Language Assessment (CAEL), BULATS, IELTS, and TOEFL.
Frequent questions about Common European Framework, such as “What is the most required CEFR level” or “Which is fluent and which is a native-speaker level” are answered in our CEFR FAQs.

English levels descriptions (Global scale):

English Basic User (A1, A2)
A1 (Beginner)
A2 (Elementary English)
English Independent User (B1, B2)
B1 (Intermediate English)
B2 (Upper-Intermediate English)
Proficient English User (C1, C2)
C1 (Advanced English)
C2 (Proficiency English)

you can Discover your current English level

with our Online English level test